Self employment as a Developer in Japan

I am writing to ask a question about working as a developer in Japan.

I have read your blog but am still unsure of what to do in my situation, and so,
if you could find some time to answer my question I would be most grateful.

I am a JavaScript/PHP/Node developer from the UK and am married with a Japanese woman.

We will be moving to Japan (Aichi most likely) to settle some time next year and so I’m looking for information about my job situation.
I currently work for a company here in the south of England and my boss has said that even if I go to Japan to settle
he wants to continue to hire me.

However I would not be a normal company employee.
He would like to hire me as essentially a contractor.

My question is, if I do this do I have to register as being self employed somehow in Japan?
Or do I just start work when I get my spouse visa and simply file tax returns when required?
Or do I need to set my self up as a company?

This may be a simple question to ask, but after looking around on Google for the past few weeks, I am still unsure as
to what I need to do in Japan to legally work as a contractor for my current employer who is based in England (once I have my spouse visa of course).

Any advice you could give on this subject would be greatly appreciated.

The biggest hurdle to self-employment in Japan is the visa, so since you’ll have a spouse visa, it should be pretty straightforward to be self-employed here.

Japan allows self-employment, so you won’t need to set up a company.

I’m not entirely sure if you need to register as a sole-proprietor or not. I did find an form called 個人事業開始申告書 which is implying there is some sort of registration procedure which you need to submit at your local tax office. Japanese bureaucrats are generally pretty friendly, so the simplest thing to do would be to drop by with your wife once you get here.