Proving 10 years of working experience

Hi!

First of all let me start saying that this forum is great and really helpful for anyone thinking about doing IT in Japan (top posts already answered like 90% of the questions I had :grin:)

To give more background Iā€™m 29 yo and had to drop my bachelors degree halfway due to financial reasons.

Iā€™m planning on moving to Tokyo next year on a WHV and look for IT related jobs that could sponsor a working visa but I donā€™t know what documentation is needed to prove that I have been working as a developer for the past 10 years.

A quick summary of my career starting with the most recent job:

1. Senior Software Engineer, 6 years in multinational IT company
  2. Software Engineer, 2 years of freelance work for local clients
  3. Junior Software Engineer, 2 years of shadowing two dev friends that were doing freelance work and helping them with minor things(unit testing, documentation, automation scripts, etcā€¦)

I could easily prove #1 since I have all the payslips and could request a recommendation letter.

#2 and #3 I am not sure how to proceed

For #2 I was payed in cash and there wasnā€™t a contract, I might be able to get in contact with 1 of my clients, the other one sadly passed away a while ago.

For #3 even thou I was shadowing them, the freelance company that they worked with didnā€™t know that. I was not getting any economic compensation from this job, just experience.

What kind of documentation would I need to prove that #2 or #3 actually happened and count them towards the 10 years needed?

Thanks!

10 years is the minimum required if you want to start the application yourself but I know a few cases were they could get the COE with less than that. Usually big foreign contractors like Rakuten have ways to wave those requirements if they really want to hire someone.

I just published an article on this and other visa options.