PHP dev in Tokyo

Hi everyone,

I am a French PHP developer and I have been working for almost 6 years as a Symfony developer. I am obviously interested in finding a job in Tokyo but from what I could read on your blog or on the net, it looks like Japanese people are not really fond of PHP. On top of this, I can’t speak Japanese.

I have been looking for opportunities from home on internet but I am kind of desperate to find anything. So, my questions are:

• do you think I have a good (real) chance to find a decent PHP developer job
    if I come in Tokyo directly with a working holiday visa and go to conferences to find contacts ?
  • since Symfony 1 was a lot inspired by RoR, would it be possible to start off as a junior/intermerdiate RoR dev ?
  • or should I just take Japanese lessons and work with RoR for 1 year at home, and try coming next year ?

Thanks for the replies, guys. And sorry if my questions sound a bit dumb.

Have a nice day!

My blog is a bit biased as I’m most active in the Ruby community, so that’s where I see the most opportunities. Overall, I would say there are more companies that are looking for PHP developers than companies looking for Ruby developers, but at the same time there are more PHP developers than Ruby developers, so I think there is more competition for the jobs as well.

While some companies are looking for people with experience in a specific language or technology, more importantly they are looking for good developers. New languages can be learned pretty quickly - when I started my first job, I didn’t have any experience using Ruby but was able to pick it up in a couple of days.

I wouldn’t spend time learning a specific language in the hopes of getting a job with it. The popular languages and technologies are constantly changing, so if you need to study one before getting a job with it, you’ll always be behind. Instead, I’d focus on things that make you more employable from a long term perspective.