Language School Path For Experienced Developer

Hi folks,

I have around 5 years of experience (mostly frontend), and I wonder what would be the best option for me to find a software development job in Japan.

As far as I can see, it is possible to find a job sooner or later from abroad, especially if you are experienced enough. Also, it looks like I have enough points for the Highly skilled professional visa.

But the more I read job descriptions the more obvious it seems to me that moving to Japan first would be so much better to land a job in a timely manner.

Hence, I have a question. Is the difference between a 3-month language school course (no student visa) and a 6-month language school course (student visa) important for potential employers? Implying that I would be actively looking for a job 2-3 months before classes start.

With a three month language school course, you’re on a tourist visa, so from an employers perspective, there’s not really any difference than if you came over on a holiday for three months. You also don’t have to actually attend the school (apart from wasting whatever money you paid them). You’d also have to leave the country to change to a working visa.

With a six month visa, you’d have a student visa, and could theoretically get part time work for instance. But you also have to actually attend classes, or your visa would be revoked. You could change visas to a working visa without having to leave (at least that’s my understanding).

Personally, rather than attending language school with the sole goal of getting a job, I’d make studying Japanese the primary goal, with finding a job being an incidental one. If you’re living in Japan, more Japanese abilities are always useful, and if you come up with a plan that’ll work even if you don’t land a job, you’re reducing the pressure you’re putting on yourself, and also having a plan for what happens after if you can’t find something.

Thank you so much for your answer.