Jnr Dev from Melbourne

Hey all, I’m an Associate Software Developer with 1.5 years experience in my current position, and 6 months in another position prior to this one. I work with .NET and TSQL on a daily basis, mainly orientated towards the back end for a company leading the charge in payment solutions for online travel agencies. We have an office in Tokyo, but all of our developers and IT work out of Melbourne in Australia. I have many other languages and technologies that I’m familiar with, including that which caters more to the games industry such as C++. I’m very interested in living abroad and Japan has always been something that I’ve been drawn to - I visited last year in October and loved it!

What steps should I take to make the move to Japan? I’m keen to learn the language and would lIke to at least spend some time in a classroom setting to learn, meet some people and perhaps work remotely temporarily whilst I’m at it. If I can do this for 6 months to a year, would this improve my chances of securing a ‘decently’ paid job in the country? 5.5m+ would be what I’d be hoping for as a Jnr, leaning towards a more Intermediate level role.

It’s hard to say what your chances are finding a job here, as it really depends on you individually. If you’re a good developer, are able to demonstrate your abilities to others, and are already living here, I think you have a decent shot at getting a job that pays ¥5,000,000+.

Nothing is guaranteed of course, and it may end up that you aren’t able to land a job. So I’d recommend creating a plan that works for you regardless of the outcome. For instance, if you think coming to Japan and studying Japanese for half a year would be a great experience even if you ultimately didn’t end up getting a job here, then go for it.