Getting an entry-level (Junior) position in Japan

Hi,

I recently joined this community, and I want to share my background and my goal to see if you find it possible.

I am a mathematics PhD student here in Japan. Recently I have been a little unmotivated to continue in this academic path. I believe that working with software development will suit me better, since I really enjoy coding and working on more concrete projects (as oposed to the abstract mathematics projects I currently work with).

I really like living in Japan, and it would be amazing to find a job here. But I have no actual experience in working as a developer. Currently I am working on my PhD (which I am not sure I want to fininsh), and on my free time I study/practice coding (mainly Python and Javascript).

My Japanese is not that good, I am around N2 level (but I don’t have a certificate). So, in my view, working in a Japanese speaking enviroment is totally out of the table, since for that I believe I would need a much higher level of Japanese and proficiency in using keigo.

So I was hoping to continue my coding self-study journey (for another 8 to 12 months) and start applying for jobs that don’t require a high level of Japanese (that would be around June-October of 2023).

The problem is that most of the advertised jobs that don’t require Japanese proficiency, ask for 3, 5 or more years of experience in the industry. So my question is: are there any Junior Developer jobs in english speaking companies here in Japan?

If there are, where can I find those?

Thanks in advance for the help!