Tokyo Dev

Developer jobs in Japan Developer Life in Japan

Getting a developer job in Japan, straight out of a foreign university

Hello, I am currently undertaking a joint honours BSc/BA (I get to choose) in Computer Science and Japanese at Oxford Brookes University in the UK and am on track for getting a 1st (the highest level of degree in UK). For various reasons, I am really interested in going to Japan after my 4th year to work as a programmer, preferably in a startup.

I have no professional experience, but have contributed a little to one opensource project (http://concoursedb.com/) and have done (and plan on doing) a few much smaller projects of my own volition. I am reasonably skilled in Java, php, html and css, at a fairly basic-intermediate level in python and VB.NET and know a little C++ and JavaScript. To add to this a few days ago I started learning ruby and plan on getting this up to the level of my Java skill (which is my strongest language). I have two projects that I have in mind and plan on deploying them as working websites.

While in Japan in my year abroad I plan on going to as many technology networking events as time allows me, I want to really get my foot in the door. Also to add, my Japanese skill is at a level where I can get by. After my year abroad I plan on taking N2 or if I think I can pass N1. N1 is actually the real goal.

With this level of experience, my current assets and the position I will be in I assume it will be hard for me to get a job in Japan without any professional experience. Even so I would like to gauge just exactly how hard it will be, anything I can do from now until my 4th year to improve my chances and also any general tips (although I have read most topics on the web on this, haha).

Thank you.

You mention studying Japanese for a year. If you do that, and get involved in the local developer community, I think you have a pretty good chance at getting a job as a developer here, regardless of previous experience.