Dispatch 220K Yen/Monthly - Front End Developer Underpaid?

Hello!
So I got hired last 2019 and turned 1 year last January! I worked as a software developer for 6 years in the Philippines, focused on javascript technologies and .net as my server side. My japanese is conversational.

I really find it difficult to be a dispatch, especially I see how much is the client is really paying me.

I do feel I am underpaid with my current salary and skill.
With that, How high is the barrier for web developer? and what would be my expected salary if they will ask. I have roughly 400k - 500k roughly in mind.

I just recently saw tokyodev and I feel like a lot of people would probably of help me determining my next steps. :frowning: I feel so sad and not totally growing right now.

1 Like

220k for a non-junior is indeed low (and I hope you are talking about after taxes). I am not sure about web developers but you might be able to get around 400k if you are independent and have a good performance.

Thanks for replying @Diogo90P

I am sad to say it is not after taxes. Roughly, I got 160k/month. With all things off. That doesn’t include my overhead expenses such as house, utlities, water and phone bill.

I am currently discouraged,about it.

When you say independent, do you mean, like a freelancer OR I am not of a dispatch employee?

I was asking to know if you still need close monitoring from a senior developer or if you can get it done by just having the specifications. If you are that kind of “independent” then you shouldn’t have any problems getting a better pay.

220 before taxes is very low. I recommend you start looking somewhere else because if the company is ok with paying that, I don’t think that even with a raise they will ever pay you a decent amount. Also, I recommend you to not reveal your salary when doing interviews, check @pwim commend on this thread: Changing jobs in Japan - #10 by pwim

@Diogo90P