Dev job for 3DCG or related industry

This might be a peculiar topic but I hope I can explain it clearly!

My background is rather bizarre where I started dabbling with coding (specifically Python) when working as a FX Artist for 3DCG anime/pachislot based in Malaysia. After being laid off due to the parent company no longer continuing their presence at my country, I ended up getting a job as a software engineer for a startup fintech company that deals with eKYC and automated merchant onboarding for Malaysia and Singapore market where I mostly work with Django and the occasional React tasks.

As my passion is more on the creative industry side, I landed my current job as a Technical Director for a local animation studio that deals with outsource overseas AAA production which I revamp and also architect the internal pipeline and management tool. Suffice to say my daily job is more of Full Stack Engineer/Dev Ops despite the “Technical Director” title.

I’ve a few questions related to dev job for Japan 3DCG industry:

1. I’m unsure if Japanese 3DCG or game studios have listings for dev related jobs which are ok with English only speakers? Currently I’m doing JLPT N5 for nearly half a year but my Japanese conversation is still not fluent.
  2. My tech stack is more of Python, Javascript/Typescript, SQL and whatever scripting language found in the 3DCG software. I do occasionally dabble with C++ but that is more of troubleshooting the client’s script for integration with the studio’s pipeline so I wonder if the tech stack is highly in demand.
  3. Currently I’m 34 years old and I wonder if this can be a barrier in applying for a dev job in Japan considering my professional programming years of experience is 4+ years (excluding my 2 years as FX Artist). I have both a Diploma in Illustration and a Degree in Animation… (go figure haha).