Am I too old for Japan?

Hi everyone.

So, I’m a software developer, currently living in Belgium. I have a master degree and have worked
in several domains, mostly in C, C++, C# and JavaScript for around 12 years.

The thing is, I just turned 33. I never thought of working in Japan until a few months ago, because
I never imagined it could be possible. I started learning Japanese and after meeting a few people,
I thought I’d like to give it a try, and maybe work there for at least one year, and see if I like it.

But I feel that I’m a little late to the party, as I read everywhere about how you can have a work
visa for a year if you’re under 30. So, I’m over 30 now, and I feel that it’s considered old in the field
in Japan.

I’m motivated to learn any language or technology that I may not master yet,
to fit the Japanese market, but at the same time, the fear that it might not be possible slows me down.

My current state of mind is that I could keep my comfortable life here, but live the rest of my life
with regrets and wondering if it could have worked. So the idea to spend at least one year working
in Tokyo and see how it goes is very attractive to me. If I don’t like it, I can come home and I would
have at least tried. If I like it, maybe I can start a new life over there…

I know a few people in Japan, which I have met through language exchange websites.
They can’t help with the IT jobs side, but it gives me confidence they could help me integrate the culture more easily.

So I’m reaching out to you, what do you guys think?

1 Like

I have been recently helping mate find a job in Japan and he’s 33 years old like you, with less experience and almost no Japanese. Had a few higher ups from Japan on a conversation on Facebook and no-one mentioned anything about his age. He didn’t try in the end, but that’s not because he couldn’t.