Am I setting realistic goals/milestones?

Hello all,

So, I am a 29 year old developer two years out of graduate school (with an MsC in Computer Science/Software Development). I work for a consulting startup in the states that specializes in IoT. I have experience writing web backends, as well as some higher-level device code. This has been using JavaScript, Java and Go. I only have about two years of experience but have had to wear a lot of hats as my company is small and is still growing fast.

Over the last few years I have visited Japan three times. I totally fell in love with Tokyo, and made some good friends along the way. As it comes time for me to explore other career opportunities, I cannot stop thinking about finding a way to work in Tokyo. Ideally, I would be able to make this work in around, or just over a year from now (though I would, of course, be open to something sooner if the opportunity arose).

I am 100% willing to accept that there will be a hit to my salary and benefits that I experience while working at a US startup, but the more I visit, the more I want to see if I can make something work there.

I have set a few goals to help me get there - though there are some caveats.

I do not speak Japanese (besides very, very basic things I use to get around). It is very difficult for me to visit for more than a week or so in the near future (6 months) and most of my connections are not directly related to development. I feel my 2 - 2.5 years of development and grad degree put me in a position of being a pretty standard developer, I feel I don’t offer something super specialized that would warrant me being hired a world away.

So I have set a few goals:

1. I will begin attending Japanese night classes in July. I know I cannot become fluent in a year, but I figure anything helps.

2. I will spend the next year saving some runway money for if I have to fend for myself (teaching English, or on a holiday visa or whatever).