Am I doing it right?

Hi

I am an entry level android developer from India looking to live and work in Japan sometime in the future. I have a strong preference in working small teams or any environment that can foster a lot of learning in a short amount time (startup culture). From what I have gathered, such environments are prevalent mostly in Tokyo and startups with a western style of management.

Relevant background: I have a BE Mechanical Engineering, but transitioned into being an android developer.

My current approach to get my foot through the door is as follows( ‘*’ denotes likelihood of me not doing it):

1.Get a few years worth of work experience under my belt and have GitHub repositories to show for it.
2.Learn Japanese (N3 minimum)
3.**Present in conferences (this is a bit tricky because software engineers int the first few years of their career aren’t compensated well enough to finance a stay abroad, especially in places like Tokyo), but I can do it in my own home country, not sure whether it will add any value.
4.Applying to consultancy firms (though I am not sure if I will be advertised to non traditional Japanese companies or startups in Tokyo)
5.**Participating in hackathons in my country
6.**Showcasing my HackerRank (or other reputed coding competition) score if it’s good enough.

Well, the above are the means I can think of increasing visibility in the job market. I considered doing masters, but that doesn’t seem to guarantee me a job and is also quite expensive. Since I have heard that candidates who are on a student visa are only allowed to work for 28 hours/week, internships may also not be possible.

So, am I doing all the right things or would you suggest any changes? Which ones would be a best left avoided etc.?
Thanks

In general, I think you’re on the right track.