Advice on how to land a web developer job in Japan

Hi! after following TokyoDev for quite sometime and been inspired by some of the stories I finally decided to reach out to the community to seek advice on what should I be prepared of in applying a web developer job in Japan.

Here’s my current situation. I’m from the Philippines, 28 years old and I have a degree in a Computer Science related course (BS - Information Technology). I am working in my current company for 4 years now. Nowadays I am working on Reports made from SQL Reporting Services (SSRS) and if I ever get involved in web development I can only do so in the database side. I design the tables, SQL views and stored procedures.

I was able to have a web development task but it is at most a miniscule enhancement like putting export functions in one of our company’s tools. I was about to get assigned a development task this year since I was able to prove myself that I am able to do it somehow with the small enhancement that I made in some of the company’s tools but because of the sudden resignation of one our data engineers I was forced to take up on his task with the SSRS reports and other database tasks. Since I was able to make some of these reports before making me the “nearest” person to entrust this tasks on. For sure the experience is great but it is frustrating that I am once again being eluded from the oppurtunity to become a fullstack web developer and just the other day we have a team discussion of what might be the best path of each team member. I admitted of wanting to become a fullstack developer however as I am apart of the Database team it is more or less impossible to happen which only made me even more frustrated causing me to not fully pay attention to the discussion.

I figured I must act on this if I don’t want to go further away with what I wanted to pursue.

Here are some of the things that I have in mind that I wanted to seek to advice with for the meantime: