Tokyo Dev

Developer jobs in Japan Developer Life in Japan

Tokyo Dev Forum

Working visa for Japan as a Ruby dev

Hi everyone.

I’m a french software dev based in London with 5 years of experience (Mainly Ruby / Rails but also a bit of Front-end React/Vue).

I monitored the job market and found that some companies are looking for Ruby devs in Tokyo. I plan to apply probably in the next 6 months and I would be ready (obviously) to travel to Japan for interviews.

I used this website http://www.immi-moj.go.jp/newimmiact_3/en/ (Points-based Preferential Immigration Treatment for Highly-Skilled Foreign Professionals) and I think I match the standard requirements(70 points) for a working visa.

I have only 1 concern :

I have a Bachelor’s Degree in Sport Science and a Master’s Degree in Ergonomics and Human Factors. But from what I can read, only a Bachelor’s Degree in Computer Science is viable to apply for a working visa? And unfortunately I have only 5 years of experience (not 10).

I’m asking it because I have heard Japan government will eases immigration rules. Could you please enlighten me about this ? :slight_smile:

Thank you everyone, have a lovely weekend

Same question. Someone who helps us? Thanks.

In Japan, you can’t get a working visa without a company sponsoring you. If you have a CS degree, you’re basically guaranteed to get approved for a working visa, and so there won’t be any uncertainty about if you can actually get one. The ten year working experience rule isn’t known by all companies, and makes it a bit harder to get a visa, as you need to provide supporting documentation, adding some uncertainty.