Will this hurt my career in the long run?

I’m a junior dev that has been working for about 1.5 years in the US. I’ve had two jobs, one which I’m doing right now, both exclusively C#. Most of the coding I’ve done was trying to fix and update pre-existing code, rather than developing new functionality.

I’m half-Japanese and have been interested in working in Japan as a developer. However, after researching, it definitely sounds like you don’t want to put all your eggs in one basket and move to Japan, expecting to love it there. I’m wondering if it wouldn’t be a bad idea to take 1-3 years off and just live in Japan and teach English or some other kind of job*? That way I can really see if the country is a place I would like to spend the rest of my life, then decide on committing to learning the language fluently and getting a job as a developer. However, I’m worried that if I spend a year or so there and I end up actually not liking it, if I go back to the US, will this gap in my resume be a problem for finding a job again as a developer? My guess is that it won’t be that problematic, but if I took as long as 3 years, that may be too long of a time span away from coding. I honestly don’t know how long it would take to have a reasonable idea whether a place is where you want to live.

*The reason I don’t say I would look for a developer job while I’m in Japan is because I am not a particularly skilled developer, and I also have very little Japanese proficiency. I would try to seek out dev jobs in Japan, but I am fully prepared that I may not be able to get any. My expectation is that I would either need to have better Japanese proficiency or have more skills/experience in coding to bring to the table to get a developer job, the former of which is of more interest for me as coding is not something I particularly look forward to doing each day (it’s really just a job to pay the bills for me).