What to expect as a new graduate

Hi, I am a 4th year student in university studying Computer Science and I am about to graduate this summer. I really want to live in Tokyo and am looking to find a job within the next year.

I am currently learning Kotlin and trying to get some projects on my portfolio this year in hopes of landing a mobile developer job when I graduate. However, I am not sure what to expect in terms of salary and job opportunities even in my home country of the US, let alone Japan. For instance, in terms of salary, I would expect to earn around $80K a year since that is what most of my friends are averaging, but I’m not sure if this is reasonable for Japanese standards --especially since I am a new graduate. My hope is to land a job at an American company and be paid a salary comparable to if I were to work in that company in the US.

I have worked at two start-up companies in the past, one in Irvine, California where I was developing their website using Ruby on Rails and another in Seoul, South Korea where I was building a part of their application using Node.JS. I am not very particular about which field of CS I would like to work in, but have always wanted to work in mobile development. I am learning Kotlin because I have heard from other sources that iOS development is saturated in Japan and that android development is more in demand (please correct me on this otherwise).

Here are the things that I am going to do this year in order to make myself a better candidate for potential employers. Please let me know of other things that I can do!

• Studying Japanese
  • Learning Kotlin and preparing projects for my portfolio
  • Completing atleast 1 Leet Code problem a day
  • keeping up to date with job opportunities on hiring sites.

Any help is much appreciated. Thank you!