Software Architect in Tokyo

Hello,

I am a software architect working in Toronto currently interested in moving to Japan for a while. I have 7+ years of work experience mostly in Java but recently been getting into more Cloud technology. I have also been managing people for around a year. My experience has mostly been in Tech consultancies with exception of one financial institution and another startup.

I contacted a recruiter from Indeed Tokyo, as I know they pay well and have no Japanese language requirement, but they said that they look for more large enterprise experience in resume (which is weird tbh).

I was wondering what kind of companies I can go for in Tokyo area, which have a good work culture, work life balance and also good salary (10 mil and above). I also enjoy doing consulting work, but I am guessing that won’t be possible unless I am at a N1 or N2 level of Japanese.

Thanks a lot, Sorry if some of these questions are very basic :stuck_out_tongue:

I’m afraid you cannot expect to make this much. Have you checked out the job board yet? Not all of the positions list salary, but here’s one that maxes out at 5 million and here’s another one which is about the same. For whatever reason, salary for mid-career developers can be quite limited in Japan compared to North America.

It’s a bummer, I know. If you’ve already got an established career in North America, you’ll probably be losing money to come to Japan. But it’s plenty enough to live in modest comfort, and some of us are just hooked on that expat lifestyle.

I’ve noticed that often companies that pay well don’t list a salary.

As a mid-career developer, if you can land a job at a moderately large, internationally minded tech company (e.g. PayPay, SmartNews, Line, and Mercari), I think 10 million plus is probably within the realm of possibility.