Preparing myself as a new grad with a relevant degree

Hey,

I’m a relatively recent grad coming out in June 2019. I’ve spent the past year working in a hospital with the job I’ve had from my degree (especially fun recently…) and it’s starting to get to the point where I’m ready to start my career job. I have a particular love for development, especially .NET based applications but I’m willing to accept QA or some other language to get my foot in the door.

I’m still working my nurse assistant job so I have a real interest in going somewhere medtech related if there are any specific companies I should look out for. But I’m interested in getting anywhere I can get my foot in the door, though ideally somewhere that respects work-life balance, which while I’ve heard is problematic generally, it’s not quite as big a problem for foreigners? Or is that an incorrect take? While I’m up for moving halfway around the world, I’m not really up for moving halfway around the world to a poor work environment, so are there any red flags or questions I can ask at interview to weed out such places?

My current steps are doing what I can in terms of building a portfolio on my github. I have a few projects in mind that I’ve started, and I feel that it’s good sense and having a good portfolio no matter where I’m applying for in the world but maybe this is incorrect and I should be persuing some kinds of certification instead?

While I’m currently learning Japanese, my time is stretched thin as it is and from what I gather it won’t be a big advantage when applying unless I’m at B1 or B2, which I am at least 3 months away from, so is viewing Japanese language learning as something that’s not urgent right now correct? Or is it one of those things that’s listed as a ‘nice-to-have’ but is really big ‘nice-to-have’? I can shift more time to it if that’s the case.