Part time work while studying Japanese

Hi!

Recently I started checking job listings in Tokyo looking for part time development jobs but haven’t had any luck finding open positions. I know that the job market took a big hit with the pandemic but I was wondering if part time IT jobs are something common in Japan.

I have been working as a back end developer for a little over 6 years but my Japanese is almost nonexistent so I was thinking about applying for a student visa and spend at least a year learning Japanese. Meanwhile I could work part time as a dev to keep adding work experience for the HSP visa.

Does this sound possible? I’m mostly worried that morning classes wouldn’t work with the “standard” working hours.

Greatly appreciate any info regarding this.
Thanks.

I think Japanese language schools in Japan aren’t a very good way to learn Japanese if your goal is working in Japan. Maybe that sounds strange, but I’ve been going to three of them for about two years now. You may not even reach N3 after a year or more, and they don’t have as goals how to focus on Japanese for getting work (like interviewing) or working language at all. A text like “Minna no Nihongo” is not necessarily an indicator of such, either.

They will, of course, provide you with a legal way to stay in Japan while looking for work. But they could also take away from time you could have spent getting good and very recent development experience, which I think is the most important factor in trying to get work.

I didn’t know there was such a thing as part time development jobs. The places I’ve worked wanted developers to work full time and finish projects quickly for several obvious reasons. For example, so other companies couldn’t beat us in developing things and steal our business. Also, our skills were special, not easy to find, so they wanted us all day if they could get us. So I don’t think you’ll have much luck finding such jobs. But maybe you work in a different kind of development.