Options when moving to Japan on a dependent's visa

Hi all,

My wife and I, currently based in the UK, are planning to move to Japan in January. My wife will be undertaking a one year research fellowship so I’ll be travelling over with her on a spousal/dependent’s visa.

I’m wondering what my options are in this scenario work wise? I’m a backend/data engineer with about 10 years experience working with Java/Scala/Spark/Python.

I know I’ll be limited to 28 hours work on the dependents visa and, judging by the job listings, part time jobs as a dev don’t seem to be common. So I’m guessing I’d be limited to casual jobs if I were to look for part-time work.

Would I be able to apply for resident-only jobs once we’re over there and have my visa converted? Or would it be better for me to start appling for full-time jobs while we’re still in the UK? Or would I be better served looking for remote work for an overseas company? Or are there any other options that I should be considering?

Appreciate whatever advice is going, thanks!

If a company wanted to hire you, it sounds like you’d qualify for an engineering visa, and so there wouldn’t be any restrictions on the amount of time you could work.

If you’re only going to be here for one year, companies are less likely to be interested in you, as they typically want someone who will stay at least a couple of years (and hopefully more).

It’s possible to get a job from overseas, however, the bar tends to be lower once you’re already a resident of Japan.

The other concern is that COVID makes things quite uncertain. As far as I’m aware, Japanese immigration basically isn’t issuing new visas, and so it may not be possible for the two of you to get into the country.