tokyodev forum

Looking for information on the future

Hello,

I was a nuclear electrician’s mate in the Navy for almost 10 years, and left the service at the beginning of 2020 to go back to school to get my bachelor’s degree. I’m currently majoring in Information Technology at the University of North Florida, which is tailored mostly towards cybersecurity, networking, IT management, and programming. Although Covid-19 has thrown a wrench into everyone’s plans, I am on track to graduate by 2023, and more and more I’ve been looking at moving away from Florida when I graduate and starting my new career somewhere else. Tokyo and Japan in general is a beautiful place that is very appealing to me, but I do have some fears.

One is that I am relatively old. By the time I graduate, I will be 31 years old. Although I have work experience in the Navy, other than any internships I might get while in my studies I will be entering the workforce with zero relevant IT work experience. I’m not sure if this combination of age and lack of experience would present a large hurdle to overcome when dealing with companies in general, let alone foreign companies.

Another is that, while I was fortunate enough to have the ability to take two years of Japanese classes in high school with a native Japanese teacher, obviously that is not even close to enough to even have more than a very basic conversation. Many of the job listings on this site advertise little to no Japanese necessary, and if I was to relocate I would be more than willing to work to improve in this area, but as far as the current reality, I fear that the language barrier might make it difficult for me to get hired.

Ultimately, I suppose my questions boil down to: should somebody like me even be looking at doing something like this, and if so, what kinds of things should I be doing now to prepare for the future?

Thanks for any help that you can give.