Looking for info for moving to Japan

Hi, I’m a software developer from Italy. I’ve been studying Japanese for about 3 years, and I’ve been entertaining the idea of moving to Japan (maybe next year). My English is ok, I have no problem understanding it at close to native level, but my speaking lags a bit since I never get the chance to use it. My Japanese is work in progress: I can understand basic TV dramas and movies, but I will probably need 5 more years before it’s even close to my English.

I’m fluent in Ruby, TypeScript, React and can do a bit of C (although I have never written any C in a professional setting). I have a bachelor’s degree in computer engineering, and 10 years of work experience. I have quite a bit of code on Github (pigoz (Stefano Pigozzi) · GitHub).

I was wondering how hard would be it for me to move, and what kind of salary ranges I should expect in companies that also sponsor visas. I’m also very scared about the overtime – is there anything I should look out for? I started my career in consulting doing 12 hours days (+3hours commute), so hearing about Japanese overtime really triggers my PTSD.

AFAIK even some major companies like Cookpad use Ruby, but most of them probably don’t want foreigners. Is there anything I should do (aside from increasing my Japanese and English ability) to make myself more attractive to prospective employers? For the visa, should I contact my university to get some form of certificate?

If anyone wants to share their experience, I’d really appreciate it!