Life as a software developer in Japan

Hello tokyodev,

I’m a software developer in my twenties and working in Scandinavia, which is also where I grew up.
A long life dream of mine has been to work and live in Japan, preferably in the tech sector. But before I fully commit to transfering my whole life there, I do want to know how life is in Japan.

For example:

• How satisfied are you with the work you’re doing?
  • How are relationships there (friends, partners, …)
  • What are your thoughts on starting a family in Japan?

These are just some of the questions that have been on my mind. While the San Francisco Bay Area has the most amazing people and companies there, I do not want to start a family there or grow old there. Instead, Japan is currently first on the list of where I want to start a family, and Scandinavia comes second.

I’m still in my twenties, but am thinking about my 35 - 40s right now as I do believe it will become at least as importance as my career. So I’m very curious about e.g. how’s sending your child to school, etc.

Don’t need to answer the questions above, but I do want to hear about what comes to your mind after reading this. Thanks!

What is life like in Japan is such a broad question it is hard to come up with meaningful answers for it. Someone who has been transferred to Tokyo on an expat relocation package, sends their children to an international school, and lives their life mostly in the international community is going to have a very different experience than someone who moves to a small town and tries to integrate into the local community, speaking Japanese exclusively.