Jobs in Japan for Self-taught Programmers / (transitioning from teaching)

Hi TokyoDev Crew.

I am a 30 year old, single American male living in Tokyo. I have been living in Japan for 5 years teaching English.

After learning more about myself and my life goals, I have decided to pursue a career in IT and CS. I plan to start by learning the basics of Web Design and Computer Programming and then looking for an internship later. I have a BA in Philosophy, and I am confident in my ability to learn anything at a quick pace.

Although I am currently employed full-time teaching English at a kindergarten, next year I plan to freelance 2 or 3 days a week, and devote the rest of my time to studying programming, web design, and CS basics. I will also be studying to pass JLPT 1.

My goal is to be proficient enough to work in Japan or America with a fairly well-rounded skill-set. Other than putting in the time and networking to find job opportunities, should I be aware of any other hurdles I might face trying to enter the market here? I am not looking for a traditional 9 to 7 Japanese job, stagnant wages, and long commute times. As interested as I am in learning software development, I still want to improve my quality of life.

Could anyone here please point me toward a comparison between Japanese and American development job statistics?

Your time and consideration is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

The first barrier is going to be a visa. Having a BA doesn’t make you eligible for an engineering visa, so to be employed here in a developer capacity, you’d need to do something like get permanent residency, or find a company that hires you primarily in a capacity as an English speaker but involves some technical skills.