IT Contracting in Japan

Hello Tokyo Devs,
First of all thank you for this forum, I’m a British national and my wife is Japanese. We are thinking to move to Japan next year, I would like to know how you are finding IT contracting market in Japan currently (especially in DevOps/SRE space).

I’m a diehard contractor :slight_smile: in UK IT contracting is very common so I never had any issues finding contracting work here as long as I’m willing to travel through out UK. In terms of take home pay percentage is also good, usually 75% – 80%. For ex if your day rate is £500, your take home pay after taxes monthly is ~£8000.

Could someone please give me brief idea in comparison what is the take home percentage in Japan normally? Also I heard IT contracting is not that common in Japan, most of the companies (including MNC’s) prefer permanent staff, is this still the case?

Visa is not an issue for me, I’m willing to travel any where in Japan and I have over 15 year’s experience in IT. So I’m hoping I can start contracting without much struggle.

The only minus point is my Japanese language skills are nill. I’m hoping I can improve once I started working in Japan through.

I look forward to hear your thoughts, thanks in advance.

I think that you will find it very difficult to get a contract job with a Japanese company.

Japanese companies do use a lot of contract workers, but they tend to be low level positions. I have no idea what the take home percentage is but the hourly rate is a small fraction of the rate you quoted. Also, none of the contract staff we use are freelance they all come via an agency.

Japanese language skills will also be a problem. I think that there are very few companies that will take on someone without Japanese ability, unless they are looking for a very specific skill set which is not available otherwise.

The situation in Tokyo (I am based in Osaka) may be different among some of the foreign companies there.