Is getting work in Japan in late 2022/2023 realistic for me?

Hi all,

I’m planning/hoping to return to Japan either late this year or in the first half of 2023, to work as a software engineer. I’m wondering if that’s a realistic timeline for someone with my experience/resume.

• I’ll have a year of experience in August this year, along with a previous 4-month internship (which turned into a short contracting role).
  • I have an MSc in Computing, and a PhD in an unrelated humanities discipline (I’m a career changer).
  • I’m a former 2-year JET from the U.K., with JLPT N3 (though my Japanese is definitely rusty now).
  • I’ll be 32 this year.

I’d ideally be targeting around ¥6M/y, but I imagine that might be a bit ambitious. Would love to hear any thoughts about myself as a candidate. Also curious about what people would recommend I start doing now in order to improve my chances of finding decent work a year from now.

Thanks!

Your biggest challenge is going to be your lack of professional experience. If a Japanese company is relocating someone from overseas, they’re typically looking for someone a bit further into their career.

A related but slightly different thing is that you’re looking to leave your first job after only being there a year. From talking to Japanese companies that bring people from overseas, they’re typically hoping that the person will stay at least a couple of years before switching companies. That you’re looking to change so soon might make them see you as a higher risk.

On the plus side, perhaps there’s something related to your MSc that you could find? This could help soften your lack of professional experience.