Finding jobs and moving in, in your 30s

Hi!

I’ve been wondering about moving to Japan for a couple of years now. There’s a lot of stuff I have to think about, so I’ll try to write some of it here to get your opinion :slight_smile:

I speak 0 Japanese (besides basic phrases). I’m a software engineer (most of my career has been building mobile apps on Android). Every now and then there’s a couple of job listings pop up that look like a real possibility for myself, the main issue however, would be, with my girlfriend. She’s a UI/UX designer (with experience in other design jobs/positions) and from the few searches I’ve done, it looks way harder to find a position for a non-Japanese speaking person for this kind of role. Are there any job boards that you’d recommend?

We’re both in our early 30s and we plan on having a child in the next couple of years. I’m mentioning this because I can imagine it can make things harder.

Does this make sense or should I just forget about it? Anything I should have in mind? I know this sound a bit all over the place but I want to get as much practical advice/input as possible.

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Good design inherently requires an understanding of language and culture, and so without Japanese ability, it is hard to work on any product for the domestic Japanese market. While Japanese tech companies tend to be most successful domestically, there are some that are international. These are the ones that I’d focus the search on. I’m not aware of any specific job board for non-Japanese speaking designers, but the companies I’m listing might be a good place to start.

Japan does offer a Dependent visa for the spouse of a foreigner working in Japan. With this visa, you can apply for permission to work 28 hours per week. My understanding is that this need not be for a company in Japan, and so working remotely for an international company for instance would be permitted.

1 Like