Changing careers, long-term Japan resident. Looking for advice

Hi all!

I’m a long-term resident of Japan. Came here in the early 2000s. Started off in the countryside and then moved to Tokyo a few years later. My Japanese is “alright” could be a lot better, and I’m a PR visa holder here.

So, to try and be as brief as possible, Like a lot of English-speaking foreigners in Japan, I came here as an English teacher (actually, I was an English teacher back home). I work two jobs now. One at a private high-school, and one office job as an editor/proof-reader. Both jobs are pretty well-paying, it’s a good lifestyle, but you know, there’s always been the nagging voice in the back of my mind that I need more skills. Anyway, last year, something clicked and I started learning HTML and CSS. I’m pretty interested in web-dev, so I started learning JavaScript as well.

During the stay-home period I enrolled in the MITx Introduction to Computer Science and Programming Using Python course to lay down a foundation in some basic CS and programming concepts. After finishing it, I started the Harvard, CS50w - Web Development with Python and JavaScript course. Really enjoying it so far as I’m doing actual web-dev projects now.

So, in my downtime, apart from learning to code, lately I’ve been researching what it would take to get a job in the field (outside of the technical skills, obviously). A lot of advice recommends networking and building contacts. Part of my research on this lead me here. The whole situation with covid makes the networking situation a bit messy, but I’m guessing there are some useful opportunities to network for foreigners, right?