Can I work in Japan as a fresh graduate student

Hi there,
I have a bachelor’s degree in computer science in the United States (major rank top 30) and currently enrolled in a master’s degree in computer engineering at NYU (graduating this Fall). And I am right now in China and having online classes. I have done many programming projects but not too complicated like the industry level. Japanese culture is really attracting me. So could you guys give some suggestions about that is it possible for me to find a programmer job here? I would like to go to language school here this fall while finishing my last semester of my master’s degree at the same time if I am a strong candidate. I am also thinking about having a second computer master’s degree (English master program) here if it helps me to get a job. But it seems like it will take me another 2+ years which could be some kind of wasting time. I will be appreciated if someone gives me some suggestions.

You’ve probably already seen my guide to getting your first job here, which should cover most of the basics.

In general, Japan has two tracks for recruitment:

1. University students
  2. Mid-career hires

Companies mostly only hire domestically for university students, and if not, they may target a select number of universities. In my experience, most international engineers working in Japan don’t go that route.

The mid-career hire route doesn’t necessarily mean someone has much experience. Rather they’re being hired on the basis of their technical skills, and not something like the name of their university. It’s theoretically possible to get hired this way as a new grad (I did), but you tend to need to already be in Japan.

So more academic credentials are unlikely to help you secure a job in Japan, unless you’re going for some part of the industry that specifically values it (e.g. data science).