Advice for mid-career overseas applicant - HELP!

Hello!

I’m a game artist that has been working in New York City since 2010. As much as I love New York, work here is extremely volatile, and I’ve been contemplating moving back to Japan for the past year because of the lack of security. Time and time again I’ve been a victim of mass layoffs, and I’m only 30. It’s impossible in this industry to save up money, build a family, etc when you’re being let go multiple times without even 24 hours notice. When I’ve spoken to some of my friends on the West Coast, especially fellow fem-devs, they tell me it can be just as volatile. The only difference is that there is much more opportunity.

I hear that layoffs are not as common in Japan. PLEASE tell me if I’m wrong. When I did work in Japan as a teacher, the one thing I did love was the community feel you would get working with your team. Everyone cared and respected one another, from the principal to the secretary who made the tea. A lot of employers see us as replaceable here, as another eager cog is waiting to take your spot. I think if I want to follow my dreams and have any sort of decent life, Japan will be the place I need to move to.

I’ve really only recently started my search for work in Japan. I’ve just gotten word back from Platinum Games (I know, I’m aiming high lol), but I didn’t get the position. I sent them an e-mail asking if they’d have any pointers for me, but I’m sure they wont have time to respond. Hopefully you guys have a few pointers?

Here is my portfolio: https://veronica-nizama.squarespace.com/