Part time developer job for Students

I recently just completed my bachelor’s degree in Computer Science and I got a scholarship to do my Master’s in tokyo. I will be moving to Tokyo this September and will be staying here for almost 3-5 years. Now I don’t want to have a gap in my resume by not being in the industry for the 3-5 years that I’ll be a graduate student.

Since I am a fresh graduate with almost zero experience other than two internships in my own country, is it possible to find part-time (since student visa allows only part time) developer jobs in tokyo? I have this query because I dont see a part-time position anywhere online for developers in Japan? Another concern of mine is will I have additional trouble finding a job considering I am a girl? Also do having really good grades help at all?

Thank you in advance.

1 Like

Hi, I’ve only got a couple of minutes, so here’s a quick reply:

Getting part time (or freelance work) shouldn’t be too tough out here. Here’s some advice:

• Networking: Companies get loads of email job applications, and the majority of them are crap. Get to as many events as you can (see Paul’s https://www.doorkeeperhq.com/, meetup.com etc for that) and meet people in person. My advice is to get to not just developer events, but design, business etc too, as you’ll have more chance of finding people who might want to hire you. Make sure you show as much interest as possible in what they’re doing, as people want to hire people who care about what’s important to them - their business. Also, don’t forget to tell people you’re looking for cool projects to work on with cool people (not “I’m looking for work”, as that’s not attractive).