Is 250,000 yen/month a good salary for an experienced mobile developer?

Hi guys!

I got in touch with a company that I would like to work with and after an interview they made me an offer. This offer was with the value described in the title. 250,000 yen/month + commute pass + health ins. and other standard perks.

What is holding me back is the fact that the offer was lower than what I was expecting. I am a mobile developer with 3 years of experience and quite a few applications shipped. This position that I am applying to is for what I have experience in, mobile development.

From what I have seen everywhere, 250k is not even close to what an entry-level position would be paid. Also worth noting that I will live with my fiancee which will be studying and not providing any source of income.

I would really like to go to work to Japan, but that salary is worst than the one that I have in my country… and my country is going through a crisis.

What do you guys think of this?

2 Likes

That sounds like a traditional Japanese company salary, where they aren’t paying you based on your skill, only your age. 250K/month is enough to support yourself, but not save money or provide for your fiancee. If you want to live together in somewhere that isn’t cramped, you’d likely have to live on the outskirts of Tokyo, and be faced with a long commute. Two more things you should clarify is whether the company offers seasonal bonuses and if they pay overtime (some companies include overtime in your compensation).

There are better paying jobs out there, but there also aren’t so many companies that are willing to hire developers living overseas (which I’m guessing is your situation). The two main options I see for you are:

1. Tell the company you’d need a higher salary to work for them, and be prepared for them not to hire you. At 350K/month you’d have a big increase in quality of life.