Interviews + Landing the Job

I’m a recent graduate with a Bachelors of Science in Information Science degree focused on Web Development, and have about 3 years professional experience as a Web Developer and 2 years as an IT Worker before that.

My thesis was on Virtual Reality learning and I have a huge interest in EdTech… Hoping to get back to Japan (I exchanged at a University in Tokyo) and also looking to gain some insight into education from the educators perspective, I took a job teaching English. That said, this is not a career nor is it a good use of my background long-term.

Over the next year I hope to develop a new/better portfolio and do some free-lance work, as-well as start contributing to open-source projects in preparation for finding a WebDev job in Tokyo (or North Kanto). That said, I’m absolutely terrified of the interview. While I worked myself to a more involved position in my web dev job, I was hired as an Entry Level candidate and at the time just had to show a working knowledge of HTML/CSS. I do know PHP, c#, and am pretty decent at Javascript, though I might be more front-end leaning than back-end. I also understand the stack and unix commands to a degree.

What can I expect from interviews for being a Web Dev (even entry) in Tokyo? Will there be white board tests? How prepared should I be?

tldr;

I’d greatly appreciate any advice or information on what the interview process for your Tokyo Dev job was like.

Thanks for reading! I know I’m a long winded individual.

Hi, I just finished my interview trip in Tokyo. Here is what I experienced,

If you’re looking for an entry position in big traditional company, there won’t be any code testing, some of them even don’t care about you can code or not. Also the salary level is about same level with new graduate job. Rakuten is an exception if you can’t speak Japanese fluently now I do recommend it.